About Us

The Virginia Chapter of the Sierra Club is 15,000 members strong. We are your friends and neighbors working to build healthy, livable communities, and to conserve and restore our natural environment.

Every day, dozens of volunteers are taking action with the Sierra Club in Virginia. From passing out compact fluorescent light bulbs, to speaking out for a cleaner environment, to exploring every nook and cranny of our beautiful Commonwealth, we think globally and act locally. Our work makes a difference in ensuring that we leave our children a living Virginia legacy — clean air, clean water, and natural grandeur.

Virginia Chapter – Sierra Club
Richmond Office
422 East Franklin Street, Suite 302
Richmond, VA 23219
Ph: 804-225-9113
Fax: 804-225-9114

Virginia Chapter – Sierra Club
Norfolk Office
259 Granby St., Suite 250
Norfolk, VA 23510
Ph: 757-447-3146
Fax: 757-333-7168


Glen Besa Headshot


Director Virginia Chapter: Glen Besa, glen.besa[at]sierraclub.org





Eileen Levandoski


Assistant Director Virginia Chapter: Eileen Levandoski, eileen.levandoski[at]sierraclub.org





Kate Addleson


Conservation Director: Kate Addleson, kate.addleson[at]sierraclub.org





Corrina Headshot


Legislative Coordinator: Corrina Beall, corrina.beall[at]sierraclub.org




Kendyl Crawford


Richmond Conservation Program Coordinator: Kendyl Crawford, kendyl.crawford[at]sierraclub.org







Hampton Roads Conservation Program Coordinator: Zach Jarjoura, zachary.jarjoura[at]sierraclub.org




Kirk Bowers


Pipelines Program Manager: Kirk Bowers, kirk.bowers[at]sierraclub.org





Deb Anderson


Administrative Assistant: Deb Anderson, deb.anderson[at]sierraclub.org





Chapter Leadership:

Ivy Main


Chapter Chair: Ivy Main





Seth Headshot


Vice Chair: Seth Heald





Ann Moore


Secretary: Ann Moore





Ralph Grove


Treasurer: Ralph Grove





Issue Chairs:

Dick Ball

Air Quality: Ana Prados

Chesapeake Bay: Fred Adams

Coal Ash: Seth Heald

Conservation: William Penniman

Energy: Dick Ball

Environmental Justice: Barbara Williamson

Forests: Sherman Bamford

Fracking: Linda Burchfiel

Fundraising: Vacant 

Tyla Headshot

Group Boundaries: Jim Lynch

Legal: Seth Heald

Legislative: Susan Stillman

Marine: Tyla Matteson

Membership: Susan Stillman

Membership Vice Chair: Will Driscoll

Nuclear Power: Erica Gray

Joe AppleOutings: Joe Apple

PAC Treasurer: Mark Endries

Ocean Issues: Chris Miller

Parks & Public Lands: Vacant 

Pipeline Issues: Kirk Bowers

Political: Tyla Matteson

Political (Assistant): Bob Pearson

Public Health: John Bloom

Recycling & Solid Waste: Vacant 

Renewable Energy: Ivy Main

Renewable Energy Vice Chair: Susan Stillman

Douglas StewartSmart Growth & Transportation: Douglas Stewart

Smart Growth & Transportation Vice Chair: Rick Keller

Sustainable Consumption: Diana Artemis

Water Quality: David Bernard

Webmaster: Corrina Beall

Wilderness: Pete Bsumek


Group Directory:

Rick KellerBlue Ridge: Tom Eick

Chesapeake Bay: Joe Cook

Falls of the James: John Zeugner & Adele Maclean

Great Falls: Norbert Pink

Highlands: Barbara Williamson (in formation)

Mount Vernon: Rick Keller

New River: Rosemarie Sawdon, Marie Bowling

Piedmont: John Cruickshank

Linda MullerRappahannock: Linda Muller

Roanoke: Dan Crawford

Shenandoah: Ralph Grove

Sierra Club Potomac Region Outings: Liz Guertin

Southwest Highlands (being formed): Barbara Williamson

Thunder Ridge: in reorganization

York River: Tyla Matteson