About Us

The Virginia Chapter of the Sierra Club is 17,000 members strong. We are your friends and neighbors working to build healthy, livable communities, and to conserve and restore our natural environment.

Every day, dozens of volunteers are taking action with the Sierra Club in Virginia. From passing out compact fluorescent light bulbs, to speaking out for a cleaner environment, to exploring every nook and cranny of our beautiful Commonwealth, we think globally and act locally. Our work makes a difference in ensuring that we leave our children a living Virginia legacy — clean air, clean water, and natural grandeur.

Virginia Chapter – Sierra Club
Richmond Office
422 East Franklin Street, Suite 302
Richmond, VA 23219
Ph: 804-225-9113
Fax: 804-225-9114

Virginia Chapter – Sierra Club
Norfolk Office
259 Granby St., Suite 250
Norfolk, VA 23510
Ph: 757-447-3146
Fax: 757-333-7168

Staff:

Director Virginia Chapter: Glen Besa, glen.besa@sierraclub.org
Assistant Director Virginia Chapter: Eileen Levandoski, eileen.levandoski@sierraclub.org
Program Manager: Kate Addleson, kate.addleson@sierraclub.org
Legislative Coordinator: Corrina Beall, corrina.beall@sierraclub.org
Northern Virginia Conservation Program Coordinator: Ishmael Buckner, ishmael.buckner@sierraclub.org
Richmond Conservation Program Coordinator: Kendyl Crawford, kendyl.crawford@sierraclub.org
Hampton Roads Conservation Program Coordinator: Zach Jarjoura, zachary.jarjoura@sierraclub.org

Chapter Leadership:

Chair: Ivy Main
Vice Chair: Seth Heald
Secretary: Ann Moore
Treasurer: Ralph Grove

Environmental Action Chairs:

Chesapeake Bay: Fred Adams
Communications: Ralph Grove
Conservation: William Penniman
Energy: Dick Ball
Environmental Justice: Barbara Williamson
Forests: Sherman Bamford
Fundraising: Charles Price
Grassroots Communications: Ralph Grove
Group Boundaries: Jim Lynch
Legal: Seth Heald
Legislative: Susan Stillman
Marine: Tyla Matteson
Membership: Susan Stillman
Membership Co-Chair: Will Driscoll
Outings: Joe Apple
PAC Treasurer: Mark Endries
Parks/Public Lands: Charles Price
Political: Tyla Matteson
Political (Assistant): Bob Pearson
Recycling/Solid Waste: Roger Diedrich
Renewable Energy: Ivy Main
Smart Growth and Transportation: Douglas Stewart
Sustainable Consumption: Diana Artemis
Water Sentinel: David Bernard
Webmaster: Corrina Beall
Wilderness: Pete Bsumek

Group Directory:

Blue Ridge: Tom Eick
Chesapeake Bay: Dottie Holtz
Falls of the James: Scott Burger & Adele Maclean
Great Falls: Norbert Pink
Mount Vernon: Rick Keller
New River: Rosemarie Sawdon, Marie Bowling
Piedmont: John Cruickshank
Rappahannock: Linda Muller
Roanoke: Dan Crawford
Shenandoah: Ralph Grove
Sierra Club Potomac Region Outings: Liz Guertin
Southwest Highlands (being formed): Barbara Williamson
Thunder Ridge: in reorganization
York River: Tyla Matteson